#### **House Committee on House and Governmental Affairs**

Minutes of Meeting 2023-2024 Interim November 29, 2023

## I. CALL TO ORDER

Representative John M. Stefanski, chairman of the House Committee on House and Governmental Affairs, called the meeting to order at 10:07 a.m. in Room 3, in the state capitol in Baton Rouge, Louisiana.

#### II. ROLL CALL

#### **MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Representative John M. Stefanski, chairman

Representative Gerald "Beau" Beaullieu, IV

Representative Daryl Andrew Deshotel

Representative Les Farnum

Representative Foy Bryan Gadberry

Representative Sam L. Jenkins, Jr.

Representative Michael T. Johnson

Representative Rodney Lyons, vice chairman

Representative Tanner D. Magee

Representative Candace N. Newell

Representative Polly Thomas

#### **MEMBERS ABSENT:**

Representative Wilford Dan Carter, Sr.

Representative Barry Ivey

Representative Jeremy S. LaCombe

Representative Richard James Nelson

Representative Malinda B. White

# **STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Patricia Lowrey-Dufour, legislative analyst Annie Smith, attorney Sarah Baker, committee administrative assistant

#### ADDITIONAL ATTENDEES PRESENT:

Faye Talbot, sergeant at arms

#### III. BUSINESS

# To consider and discuss a proposed rule promulgation by the Department of State regarding non-statutory fees (LAC 4:1.401-405)

Kyle Ardoin, 8585 Archives Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809, (225) 922-2880, spoke for information only.

Catherine Newsome, P.O. Box 94125, Baton Rouge, LA 70804, (225) 922-2880, spoke for information only.

Steve Hawkland, 8585 Archives Avenue, Baton Rouge, LA 70809, (225) 287-7475, spoke for information only.

Witness cards submitted by individuals who did not speak are as follows: 3 for information only. Witness cards are included in the committee records.

Representative Newell offered a motion to find the proposed rule acceptable. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 11 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Stefanski, Beaullieu, Deshotel, Farnum, Gadberry, Jenkins, Lyons, Mike Johnson, Magee, Newell, and Thomas voted yea.

# Adoption of minutes for committee meetings held on: September 15, 2022, of the 2022-2023 Interim; April 20, April 25, May 2, May 10, May 16, May 17, May 23, May 24, May 31, and June 5, 2023, of the 2023 Regular Session

Representative Stefanski offered a motion to adopt. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 10 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Stefanski, Beaullieu, Deshotel, Farnum, Gadberry, Lyons, Mike Johnson, Magee, Newell, and Thomas voted yea.

#### IV. ANNOUNCEMENTS

There were no announcements.

## V. ADJOURNMENT

Representative Thomas offered a motion to adjourn. Without objection, the motion passed by a vote of 10 yeas and 0 nays. Representatives Stefanski, Beaullieu, Deshotel, Farnum, Gadberry, Lyons, Mike Johnson, Magee, Newell, and Thomas voted yea.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:52 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Chairman John M. Stefanski House Committee on House and Governmental Affairs

Date adopted:

The committee has acknowledged on November 29, 2023, that these minutes were prepared in accordance with the rules of the House of Representatives.